Eschewing the Skeleton Crew

In late 2014, working hard at uni and in therapy, I decided to combine my scholarly feminist research with a good deal of self-scrutiny. What came out of it was this: a feature article (and personal manifesto) entitled Eschewing the Skeleton Crew.

Yep, this is me with my birthday cake, age 7. Background art by Maria Tort.

Yep, this is me with my birthday cake, age 7. Background art by Maria Tort.

It’s pretty confronting but hey, that’s the ugly truth of eating disorders. For example:

As a 22-year-old who has spent irrecoverable hours slumped over splattered, rancid toilet bowls, I would do anything I could to prevent others from experiencing such virulent self-loathing. That’s what this is about. An eating disorder is a severe, disabling, sometimes fatal mental illness. It’s also a choice. I want to explain what it is that you, your daughter, your best friend, your mentor stands to lose by nibbling the occasional lettuce leaf, downing the bottle of ipecac.

Among other valuables, your self.

I wanted to share my experiences and insights so that others struggling with anorexia and bulimia might not feel so alone, and so that people who don’t know much about eating disorders could become aware of their complex, devastating realities. I also wanted to offer hope.

In searching for feminist media outlets that might publish the article, I came across Bluestockings Magazine. A student-run publication based at Brown University (USA), Bluestockings affirms marginalised voices and examines contemporary women’s issues within larger historical and socio-political frameworks. In other words, it’s incredible.

Bluestockings Magazine banner

The editorial team picked up my feature and the rest is history.

Leave a Reply

